Day in the Park

NOTE: This was originally posted in my old blog

I have a lot to learn about photography. Truth be told, I don’t even know all the things my camera does yet. But I do love learning.

The day this was taken I wanted to have a picnic in the park with Mina, who just loves picnics. I thought she’d run around and get herself tired. I don’t know about you, but I really like praising my daughter doing a good job with whatever she’s doing, while I’m sitting on a bench sipping a latte. That’s my preference.

This time around though, I had my camera and I wanted to catch images of her playing. But seriously, she found a girl who played actively and followed her around watching her. I had to coax her to actually DO THINGS. On the swing you’ll see her turned to the side because she was watching the little girl.

After a few minutes of coaxing, I gave up. I wanted her tired. I convinced her to run with me across the field, and once we got to the top, for her to jump so I could catch her mid-air..she couldn’t jump very high lol.

IMG_5090

She took a few shots with my camera too. Got a stunning one of the sunset. Too bad my head was in the way.

Fun times. She never does anything I expect. I’ve had to let go of a LOT of expectations. Motherhood is surprising in that way, and never a dull moment.

Leave a Reply

