The One Where Mina Bakes Me A Cake

You’re in a for a treat. You’ve dodged a bullet of a post filled with me complaining about how busy I am now, about how awful it is to be new, about being tired…blah blah blah. Who wants to read about those things?

But cake, ah, people do love cake! And I’ve got to say, this cake that my 4 year-old daughter Mina baked for me is the best cake in the whole wide world.

When this little girl found out it was my birthday, she was raving to everybody; telling any and all strangers that “Today is my mom’s birthday!”.

The idea for this cake came about from reading Bring Up Bebe, a book about an American mother transplanted in France who raves about the behavioral differences in France’s children vs. American kids. I plan to review the book in more depth later, but one part I do admire about France is their love of different flavors and textures, instilled from a young age. In the chapter discussing food, they touch upon the fact that most children (I assume little girls only though) are baking by the time they’re three. They start off with the simplest yogurt cake or as I like to write it Gâteau au Yourt. Baking instills, among other things, patience (and math skills) as the child starts off with two 6 oz cups of yogurt and uses that to measure out all the other ingredients, save for a few.

Well, I read this passage two days before my birthday and I decided I would encourage it for my birthday. And she really did most of it except for lifting and pouring things that required stronger muscles, and turning the oven on part. It turned out delicious. We slathered Nutella over our slices when we were done.

INGREDIENTS

3 eggs, 2 6 oz. jars plain yogurt, 4 jars of flour 2 jars of sugar (or 3 depending on how sweet you like it), 1 jar of vegetable oil, 1.5 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 teaspoon vanilla

That’s the basics. You can add a jar of any of your favorite fruits like cut up bananas, berries, or even chocolate chips (which we did).
PREPARATION

In a bowl put the flour and yogurt, mix.
Place oil, eggs, sugar, vanilla, baking powder in a large bowl.
Mix everything together, cook for 30 minutes at 275 °F.

And look, pictures! Happy Birthday to Me, indeed!


3 comments


Leave a Reply

