An Art Shop in Little Italy

One day a few months back I decided to undertake the photographer’s exercise I stumbled upon a photography website once. The exercise? Have a walk around any neighborhood, take a few steps, stop and photograph something. I once undertook this exercise and thought it was a success. I took it this time and felt very meh about the results.

I haven’t looked at these pictures in a while but these pictures of the art  supply store I walked into brought back happy memories. Briefly in high school I thought I was a good artist and that I COULD go away to New York City and be a fantastic success in the art industry. Never mind that I had mediocre talent, and that the term starving artists was started for a reason. I wasn’t grounded in reality, I was a dreamer, like most kids are. I just liked a simple sketch book, and pencils of different hardness. But I liked painting too.

Walking into this store reminded me of that high school dreamer.

Leave a Reply

