Preschool Was Cool But It’s Over

And now it comes to an end. She’s off to her next adventure, Kindergarten. We’re so proud of you, dear daughter.

I remember her being held up by the doctor after being sectioned from my womb, as dark blue as a new bruise. I remember her as a chubby baby, cuddling next to me in bed. As a toddler shaking her head in her car seat to the rhythm of the music blasting from the radio. I remember her as a tiny human being running away from me, begging to be chased. I blink and she grows. Sometimes I’m afraid to blink too much. More and more, she strays from my side and each steps she takes brings her further away. More and more, she asks me to chase her less and less.

2 comments


Leave a Reply

